Tags

, , , , ,

Raw Cashew Cookies

From time to time we need kitchen inspiration. With a library of cookbooks at our disposal you’d think we’d have an endless supply of ideas. But like anyone, we need to mix it up to keep the creative flow of recipes coming. I guess it’s the chef’s equivalent of writer’s block.

Cashews

Usually, we use this as an excuse to go out to eat. “Research” as Matthew calls it. Matthew likes to order dishes that we don’t make often at home and I like to order food that doesn’t sound like it would go very well together but somehow works. Kale, kiwi, tahini? Sounds weird – I’ll take one!

We had lunch at Ecopolitan, an organic raw foods restaurant, to shake things up a little. We try to eat the least amount of processed foods as possible, but neither of us are up to speed on raw cooking beyond salads and sprouting. It was the perfect place to get a fresh perspective.

Every bite at the restaurant was inspiring, but I was particularly drawn to the sweets that we took to go – two raw cookies. They were cold to the touch, very dense, lightly sweet and had an amazingly complex flavor. immediately when we got home I started tinkering around with the food processor, trying to replicate the addictive treat. What I ended up with was a raw cookie made of just four ingredients that tastes just like cookie dough. When I brought them to a superbowl party days later, they disappeared within minutes. My niece and nephews were begging me for more.

My favorite part is that they should be stored in the freezer, meaning that a bite-sized dessert is always on hand. I imagine these would be great blended into homemade ice cream or crumbled on top of an ice cream sundae. Can you tell I’m dreaming of summer?

IMG_0529

Raw Cashew Cookies
{gluten-free, raw, vegan}

Makes about 2 dozen cookies

1 1/2 cups raw cashews
2/3 cup dates
3 tablespoons almond butter
pinch of salt

Add cashews to the food process and grind into a flour. Add the dates, almond butter and salt and process until it sticks together.

Dump contents out onto a cutting board lined with parchment paper and shape into a ball with your hands. Roll the dough with a rolling pin  until it is about 1/2 inch thick.

Cut out with a cookie cutter and freeze. They are best served frozen and will keep for approximately one month in the freezer.

