Tags

, , , ,

IMG_1117

I love the bulk bins aisle in our co-op. I fill mason jars with seeds, nuts, grains and beans. I line up my pretty jars on the second shelf of our cupboard so I always know what I have on hand.

IMG_1003

When unpacking my groceries after a trip to the co-op this week, my bulk bin habit stared me in the face. I looked up at the dozens of almost empty jars and realized I had to make some room. Granola is the perfect way to use up odds and ends in your pantry. I winged it with this one, and you can too. Keep the dry/wet ratio the same and adjust the sweetness based on your taste.

IMG_1028

Fig & Almond Granola
{gluten-free, vegan}

Makes 1 quart

2 cups rolled oats
1 cup mixed nuts and seeds
2 tablespoons ground flaxseed
1 tablespoon chia seeds
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt

3 tablespoons brown rice syrup
3 tablespoons nut butter (peanut, almond, cashew, etc)
1 tablespoon coconut oil
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla or 1/2 vanilla bean, scraped

1/2 cup chopped dried figs (stems removed)

Preheat oven to 300F. In a medium saucepan over medium heat, add all the wet ingredients. Simmer on low for 5 minutes, stirring frequently.

In a very large mixing bowl, mix together the dry ingredients.

Add the wet mixture over top the dry mixture and stir well. You might want to get in there with your hands to help combine the ingredients.

Spread onto a pan lined with parchment paper or a silpat and bake in the oven for 30-35 minutes at 300F. Remove the pan from the oven every 10 minutes and give the granola a good stir to ensure even baking.

Allow to cool for before serving, then add dried figs. The granola will harden and get crunchy as it cools. Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

IMG_1022

