Tags

, , ,

IMG_1533AAA

I think I will nickname this “Sick Soup.” Unfortunately that doesn’t sound too appealing. On Sunday night I  turned to the magical healing powers of soup to nurse my exhausted wife back to health as she cuddled on the couch with a seasonal cold. Her symptoms were sinus pressure and a never-ending runny nose. I reached for ginger and garlic to open up her congestion. I knew she was having some trouble tasting anything so I threw a splash of red wine vinegar to add some pop to the heat of the ginger and red pepper flake.

IMG_1464 - CopyAAA

I love cooking with my wife. Equally, I love cooking for my wife. If I’m trying some new dishes for a menu she will sit at the table and watch as I flail around the kitchen chopping, flipping pans, swearing when I burn myself, losing my glass of wine and diving into the fridge when inspiration strikes for adding something to the pot. Honestly, it is probably safer for her to be a spectator on those nights.

IMG_1509AAA

However, on this night she was on the couch and I wanted to cook as fast as I could and get back to her. I opened the fridge and immediately spied my culprit, a can of barely used tomatoes. A quick chopping of onions and garlic, followed by 15 minutes in the pot with the tomatoes and ginger and you have remedy for a “cold” night.

IMG_1518BBB

Tomato Ginger Soup (Sick Soup)
{gluten-free, vegan}

Makes one big pot of soup

2-28 ounce cans high-quality tomatoes
3 onions, chopped
1 head of garlic
1 tablespoon coriander
3 tablespoons grated ginger
2 teaspoons red pepper flakes
3 tablespoons red wine vinegar
salt and pepper

Peel and roughly chop the garlic, yes the whole head! Coat the bottom of a large pot with cooking oil. Throw onions, coriander and all of the garlic into a pot and sweat over medium heat until translucent. Be careful not to brown the onions or garlic.

Add both cans of tomatoes, 2 tablespoons of ginger and red pepper flakes to the pot. Stir well and simmer for 15 minutes. Puree in a blender and pour back into the pot. Be very careful with this step – we suggest pureeing in small batches, filling the blender one-third full each time.

Once it’s all pureed, add remaining one tablespoon of ginger, red wine vinegar, salt and pepper. Stir well, adjust seasoning to taste and serve with sliced scallions and crackers.

