Tags

, , , , , ,

Cooking in French restaurants for many years, I have made pate out of every odd and end in the kitchen, from duck liver to chicken heart.  Generally what I cook at the restaurant is not a great reflection of how I realistically eat at home. What we eat at home is mostly represented in our blog.

Many of our friends work in restaurants and when we visit them they’ll sometimes send out little gifts from the kitchen. Most of these are “chef dishes.” This means the dishes aren’t on the menu or wouldn’t normally appeal to many diners. I’m talking duck gizzards, pig trotters terrines, foie mousse, monkfish liver pate…you get the idea.  Abby will always taste it and I am left with the task of finishing it. Most often they are wonderful creations from like-minded individuals who know I will appreciate their artistic culinary offerings.

One day walking by the deli case in our co-op we noticed a walnut and tofu pate. I was ecstatic to find a pate that was healthy and flavorful. We decided to whisk the idea into our own version. Abby took the reigns for creating this recipe and I think she knocked it out of the park. I can’t wait to share this with our friends and hear their reactions. What is the best pate, terrine or mousse you’ve ever had and how does this compare???

Vegan Walnut Pecan Pate
{gluten-free, vegan}

Serves a small crowd as an appetizer

1 3/4 cups walnuts
3/4 cups pecans
1/4 red onion
2 cloves garlic
2 tablespoons cider vinegar
2 tablespoons tamari

Add nuts, onion and garlic to a food processor and puree. When the mixture is almost smooth, add the cider vinegar and tamari. Blend again for another minute or so to completely incorporate all ingredients.

